Hot Best Seller

Frankie Avalon's Italian Family Cookbook: From Mom's Kitchen to Mine and Yours

Availability: Ready to download

Entertainment legend Frankie Avalon has cooked his way from his mother's kitchen in South Philadelphia to Hollywood and Las Vegas. Here in his first cookbook are pitch-perfect recipes for such Italian classics as Tomato-Ricotta Lasagna and Three-Meat Sunday Gravy with Pasta, as well as unexpected treasures like Roast Pork with Fig Sauce and Pork Milanese on Kale Salad. Fran Entertainment legend Frankie Avalon has cooked his way from his mother's kitchen in South Philadelphia to Hollywood and Las Vegas. Here in his first cookbook are pitch-perfect recipes for such Italian classics as Tomato-Ricotta Lasagna and Three-Meat Sunday Gravy with Pasta, as well as unexpected treasures like Roast Pork with Fig Sauce and Pork Milanese on Kale Salad. Frankie Avalon's Italian Family Cookbook is first and foremost a collection of over 80 of his favorite dishes, ones that Frankie and his wife Kay regularly serve to their eight children and ten grandchildren. Weeknight meals, Sunday suppers, and holiday feasts are all covered with must-have recipes—each one taste-tested by Avalons of all ages. And Frankie is a great storyteller, so delicious tales of more than five decades in show business pop up like meatballs in marinara sauce. Novice and experienced cooks will find a lot to love between these pages—dozens of heirloom recipes, mouthwatering food photographs, plus candid shots of Frankie at home in Southern California with his family and some of his favorite food places and pals in the old neighborhood in Philly, tips on Italian ingredients, advice on cooking for a crowd, and more. Frankie's latest ventures include his food company, which specializes in prepared Italian food products, like rice balls and sausages, based on his heritage (his father was a butcher) and currently available on QVC.


Compare

Entertainment legend Frankie Avalon has cooked his way from his mother's kitchen in South Philadelphia to Hollywood and Las Vegas. Here in his first cookbook are pitch-perfect recipes for such Italian classics as Tomato-Ricotta Lasagna and Three-Meat Sunday Gravy with Pasta, as well as unexpected treasures like Roast Pork with Fig Sauce and Pork Milanese on Kale Salad. Fran Entertainment legend Frankie Avalon has cooked his way from his mother's kitchen in South Philadelphia to Hollywood and Las Vegas. Here in his first cookbook are pitch-perfect recipes for such Italian classics as Tomato-Ricotta Lasagna and Three-Meat Sunday Gravy with Pasta, as well as unexpected treasures like Roast Pork with Fig Sauce and Pork Milanese on Kale Salad. Frankie Avalon's Italian Family Cookbook is first and foremost a collection of over 80 of his favorite dishes, ones that Frankie and his wife Kay regularly serve to their eight children and ten grandchildren. Weeknight meals, Sunday suppers, and holiday feasts are all covered with must-have recipes—each one taste-tested by Avalons of all ages. And Frankie is a great storyteller, so delicious tales of more than five decades in show business pop up like meatballs in marinara sauce. Novice and experienced cooks will find a lot to love between these pages—dozens of heirloom recipes, mouthwatering food photographs, plus candid shots of Frankie at home in Southern California with his family and some of his favorite food places and pals in the old neighborhood in Philly, tips on Italian ingredients, advice on cooking for a crowd, and more. Frankie's latest ventures include his food company, which specializes in prepared Italian food products, like rice balls and sausages, based on his heritage (his father was a butcher) and currently available on QVC.

59 review for Frankie Avalon's Italian Family Cookbook: From Mom's Kitchen to Mine and Yours

  1. 5 out of 5

    Mfbirkett

    Excellent Italian cookbook with a recipe for braciole (pronounced brahj-ohl) just like my Aunt Patty made. Wonderful!

  2. 4 out of 5

    Barbara White

    What's not to like? This book is yummy!!! The recipes are great. I especially like the marinara sauce, braciole, and sausage stuffed red peppers. I still have many recipes to try. I really like Frankie's comments with each of the recipes. It's like having a conversation with him. The recipes are easy to read and understand. This is a must have for cook-book shelf in your kitchen. Thanks to Goodreads First Reads for a copy of Frankie's book. What's not to like? This book is yummy!!! The recipes are great. I especially like the marinara sauce, braciole, and sausage stuffed red peppers. I still have many recipes to try. I really like Frankie's comments with each of the recipes. It's like having a conversation with him. The recipes are easy to read and understand. This is a must have for cook-book shelf in your kitchen. Thanks to Goodreads First Reads for a copy of Frankie's book.

  3. 4 out of 5

    Penny

    Excellent Recipes, Great Stories and Awesome photos. Love this cookbook <3

  4. 5 out of 5

    Paul

    Please See My Full Review at: https://bibliothecaeclecticus.wordpre... Please See My Full Review at: https://bibliothecaeclecticus.wordpre...

  5. 4 out of 5

    Celia Juliano

    Enjoyable read for fans of Avalon or Italian-American cooking. Holding off on rating until I try some of the recipes.

  6. 5 out of 5

    Kim Wallace

    Very informative with fresh new recipes. Beautiful pictures of the food. Love that it us hardback book.

  7. 4 out of 5

    Beth

    I loved the recipes. I've shared the book with family who also enjoyed the recipes. Thanks! Per guidelines, I won a copy from Goodreads. I loved the recipes. I've shared the book with family who also enjoyed the recipes. Thanks! Per guidelines, I won a copy from Goodreads.

  8. 4 out of 5

    Barbara

    I really enjoyed reading about different cheeses and meats. I haven't tried to make anything yet, but I am sure i will love lots of things! I really enjoyed reading about different cheeses and meats. I haven't tried to make anything yet, but I am sure i will love lots of things!

  9. 4 out of 5

    Sandra Constantine

  10. 5 out of 5

    Amberle Husbands

  11. 5 out of 5

    Denise O'Hara

  12. 4 out of 5

    Denise Foehl

  13. 4 out of 5

    Linda A

  14. 4 out of 5

    MARY WILSON

  15. 5 out of 5

    Sarah Lane

  16. 5 out of 5

    Paula

  17. 5 out of 5

    Jim W

  18. 5 out of 5

    Jessi

  19. 5 out of 5

    David A Galloway sr

  20. 5 out of 5

    Lauri Shepro Smith

  21. 4 out of 5

    Julie Failla Earhart

  22. 5 out of 5

    Candy Camarena

  23. 5 out of 5

    Jeanne Marie

  24. 5 out of 5

    Liz Staab

  25. 5 out of 5

    Ruth

  26. 5 out of 5

    Terri

  27. 4 out of 5

    kathy weidner

  28. 4 out of 5

    Bob

  29. 5 out of 5

    Bernadette Rorapaugh

  30. 4 out of 5

    Francesca

  31. 4 out of 5

    Desi

  32. 4 out of 5

    Laura Harrison

  33. 5 out of 5

    Tima

  34. 4 out of 5

    Crystal

  35. 5 out of 5

    Tina

  36. 4 out of 5

    Jo.

  37. 4 out of 5

    A. C. H..

  38. 4 out of 5

    Linda

  39. 5 out of 5

    Trica Johnson

  40. 4 out of 5

    Dr. Cole Marie Mckinnon

  41. 5 out of 5

    Erica Carver

  42. 5 out of 5

    Lena

  43. 5 out of 5

    Barbara Summey

  44. 5 out of 5

    Tammy

  45. 4 out of 5

    Katrina Mcghee

  46. 4 out of 5

    Karen Thompson

  47. 5 out of 5

    Nijole

  48. 5 out of 5

    Cynthia Schwarzer

  49. 4 out of 5

    Debbie White

  50. 4 out of 5

    Jeanne Graham

  51. 5 out of 5

    Melinda M

  52. 4 out of 5

    Kimberley Coover

  53. 5 out of 5

    Pamela Miller

  54. 5 out of 5

    Heather

  55. 4 out of 5

    Vykki

  56. 4 out of 5

    Joy Adams

  57. 4 out of 5

    Gail

  58. 4 out of 5

    Amy

  59. 4 out of 5

    Kathy Heare Watts

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading...